More countries removed from ‘travel corridors’ list


People arriving in England from Switzerland, the Czech Republic and Jamaica after 4am Saturday (29 August) will need to self-isolate for two weeks.

The Government said that data from the Joint Biosecurity Centre and Public Health England has indicated a significant change in both the level and pace of confirmed cases of COVID-19 in these countries, leading to ministers removing them from the current list of 'travel corridors'.

A tourist train on Jungfrau Railway

However another Caribbean island, Cuba, has been added to the Government’s travel corridor list following a decrease in confirmed cases of coronavirus.

Officials said infections from COVID-19 are on the rise across Europe and that the Government has made consistently clear it will take decisive action if necessary to contain the virus, ‘which includes removing countries from the travel corridors list rapidly, if the public health risk of people returning from a particular country without self-isolating becomes too high’.

‘This means holidaymakers may find they need to self isolate on return to the UK and are advised to consider the implications of self-isolation on them and their families before making travel plans.’

From 4am on Saturday, passengers arriving to England from Cuba will no longer need to self-isolate, as long as they have not been in or transited through any other non-exempt countries in the 14 days preceding their arrival.

Register now for full access

Register just once to get unrestricted, real-time coverage of the issues and challenges facing UK transport and highways engineers.

Full website content includes the latest news, exclusive commentary from leading industry figures and detailed topical analysis of the highways, transportation, environment and place-shaping sectors. Use the link below to register your details for full, free access.

Already a registered? Login

comments powered by Disqus