Full list of devolution proposals revealed


Local government has handed in 38 separate devolution proposals, with transport featuring heavily in the list of demands.

Ministers revealed today the full list of bids from cities, towns and counties across the UK that made last Friday's deadline, following the call from chancellor George Osborne for devolution proposals following the Greater Manchester deal last year.

Councils have requested new powers in areas including education, healthcare, housing and business support as well as transport, with London-style bus franchising controls likely to feature in many proposals from urban areas.

The deals will now be considered as part of the Spending Review, the results of which will be announced by the chancellor on 25 November.

Prime minister David Cameron said: ‘The best businesses would never shy away from allowing their customers to shape the way they improve their services.

'If we are bold enough, government can go one better by actually putting many of those services in the hands of local people. It is also a proven reality that money spent closer to people is often money spent wiser – so we can really deliver more for less.’

Mr Osborne said: ‘We have had hugely ambitious proposals from all over the country showing that local areas are as enthusiastic as I am about shifting power out of Whitehall.

‘What we are delivering in the Northern Powerhouse through our ground-breaking deal with Greater Manchester illustrates what can be achieved by working together - the challenge is now to make this happen in other great cities.’

The full list includes requests from some areas that have already agreed deals and are seeking further powers.

Full list of devolution proposals received on 4 September

1 Aberdeen

2 Cardiff

3 Cheshire and Warrington

4 Cornwall

5 Cumbria

6 Dorset

7 ‘D2N2’ – Derbyshire, Derby, Nottinghamshire and Nottingham

8 *Edinburgh

9 Gloucestershire

10 Greater Brighton

11 Greater Essex

12 Greater Lincolnshire

13 Greater Manchester

14 Greater Yorkshire

15 Hampshire & Isle of Wight

16 Heart of the South West

17 Herefordshire

18 Hull, Yorkshire, Leeds City Region and the Northern Powerhouse

19 Inverness & Highland City

20 Leeds City Region

21 Leicester and Leicestershire

22 Liverpool City Region

23 London

24 Norfolk

25 Northamptonshire

26 North East

27 Oxfordshire

28 Sheffield City Region

29 Surrey, West Sussex & East Sussex

30 Swindon

31 Suffolk

32 Tees Valley

33 Telford & Wrekin

34 West Midlands

35 West of England

36 Wiltshire

37 Worcestershire

38 York, North Yorkshire and East Riding

comments powered by Disqus