Diversity and inclusion wins big in New Year transport honours


The 2021 New Year Honours list has recognised leading figures in the transport industry, with diversity and inclusion standing out as a key theme, along with COVID response and wider resilience.

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire, CBE

Among those awarded a CBE for public service was Lucy Bird, director of transport security, resilience and response at the Department for Transport (DfT). 

Mark Hopwood, managing director of the Great Western Railway, was awarded his CBE for services to transport.


Officers of the Order of the British Empire, OBE

Deborah Francis, managing director of Direct Rail Services, was awarded an OBE for services to women in the railway industry and Loraine Martins MBE was recognised for her work as director of diversity and inclusion at Network Rail.

Martin Frobisher, group safety and engineering director for Network Rail's technical authority, won an OBE for services to the NHS and railway workers during COVID-19 and for his voluntary service through the army reserves.

Dr Matthew West, a consultant for the Centre for National Infrastructure, was made an OBE for services to information management in business.

John Murray, who was lately chief executive of the Society of Maritime Industries, won an OBE for services to the UK maritime sector.

Members of the Order of the British Empire, MBE

Diversity and inclusion was also a key feature in the MBE awards; Shane Andrews, who works as a project operations interface specialist at Network Rail, was recognised for services in this area, and Kim Lewington, who works on the charity development programme at Fly2Help, won for services to diversity in aviation.

Ashley Nicholson, president of the UK Harbour Masters Association and senior harbour master at Forthports Ltd, won for services to women in the maritime sector.

Amanda Owen, health and safety director at Heathrow Airport, won an MBE for services to transport, particularly during the COVID-19 response.

Dr Lynn Sloman, founder of Transport for Quality of Life, which produces quality evaluations of sustainable transport investment, won her MBE for services to transport.

Peter Stratten, chief executive officer of the British Gliding Association, won an MBE for services to aviation and Andrew Savage, executive director of the Rail Heritage Trust, won for services to the rail industry and its heritage.

Peter Barham won for services to the maritime sector, along with Chris Shirling-Rooke, CEO of Mersey Maritime.

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire

Continuing the inclusion theme, Sandra Duncan, who was lately aviation security adviser at the DfT, was awarded her medal for services to transport and to people with disabilities, while Sandra St Louis-Kandapah, a maritime officer at the DfT, won for services to diversity, inclusion and charity.

Sharon Sear, commercial manager at Transport for London (TfL), won her medal for services to transport in London during the COVID-19 response as did Mathew Sullivan, materials manager at TfL.

David Butler, access manager at Translink was awarded a medal for services to public transport in Northern Ireland.

Register now for full access

Register just once to get unrestricted, real-time coverage of the issues and challenges facing UK transport and highways engineers.

Full website content includes the latest news, exclusive commentary from leading industry figures and detailed topical analysis of the highways, transportation, environment and place-shaping sectors. Use the link below to register your details for full, free access.

Already a registered? Login

comments powered by Disqus